Bigger - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Bigger Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 18, 2018
As the average movie goer not a critic I thought the movie was fantastic. I am not a body builder, but I loved being educated to Joe Weider's vision. I liked the visual timeline. The movie was welll paced and held my interest. The actors were believable and likeable. I was left wanting to learn more about Joe Weider. As the consumer I was thoroughly entertained. For those looking for a movie that will hold your interest and educate you to the big business of fitness, go see this movie. I look forward to watching it again
October 18, 2018
Saw BIGGER last night. It was truly fun. A great story of two brothers who truly loved each other and became sucessful because of their love. They overcame a lot of tough breaks and managed to make something out of themselves. In doing so, and in following their passion, they also changed the way millions of people around the globe keep themselves in shape and their bodies healthy. It's beautiful and fun and flies by.. A bonus; the origin of California's ex-Governor!!.
October 16, 2018
The movie based on the real life story of Joe Weider was poignantly delivered depicting a Canadian born, Polish Jewish descendant who accomplished his vision of building a body-building empire despite adversity and the anti-Semitism he endured along the way. The movie illustrated a graceful determination of the pursuit of lifelong dreams while showcasing some good acting and an appreciation for a man's relentless journey. Awesome job!
October 15, 2018
Bigger" was wonderful! I thought the acting was excellent. It was well
written and I learned a lot about the history of body building and the
growth of the exercise industry.

The beautiful Julianne Hough (Dancing with the Stars) was not only perfect
for the role of Joe Weider's true love Betty, but her character showed how
Joe Weider, a brilliant businessman, and rising leader of the fitness world,
also respected and valued the ideas that she contributed. We watched how he
and his brother experienced despicable anti-Semitism (seeing the ugly and
ignorant side of some) and stood up for what he believed in. A true
visionary and ahead of his time, it was inspirational to see his new ideas
turn into reality.
It's age appropriate for 12 and up and will most likely motivate it's
viewers to live a healthy life and to follow your dreams! You definitely
don't have to be into body building to enjoy this movie. If you happen to
be, you'll go nuts over it.
October 14, 2018
MUST SEE MOVIE! Great cast, thoughtful storyline, and it'll definitely push YOU to get BIGGER!
October 14, 2018
Terrific storytelling!
October 14, 2018
This movie is a must - see. It is a true story about how the Weider brothers, originally from the "Jewish Ghetto" in Montreal, overcame poverty, antisemitism, ridicule, and a general lack of opportunity to help build the sport of bodybuilding and popularize the principles of physical fitness worldwide. Joe Weider became a legendary figure in bodybuilding, and the brothers created the Mr. Olympia contest and discovered Arnold Schwarzenegger in Austria along the way.

This film isn't just for fitness fanatics or bodybuilders though. It is a film about overcoming obstacles and believing in a dream, with some wonderfully developed characters that you can't help but cheer for (or hate, in the case of bad guy Bill Hauk brilliantly played by Kevin Durand).

What was particularly surprising, is how this film will resonate with women. It is not just a "get pumped" body-building muscle film. One of the most remarkable performances is by Julianne Hough who plays Joe's wife, Betty Weider FKA Betty Brosmer, a gorgeous 1950's pin-up girl (google it). Betty plays a central part in this story, and Joe Weider's reliance on her and obvious respect for her intellect and willingness to treat her as his equal is refreshing to see (esp considering the era in which these events took place and against the backdrop of the current #metoo movement).

The other reviews rave about Australian Calum Von Moger, who is an absolute dead ringer for a young Arnold Schwarzenegger (discovered by Joe Weider in the 1960's) not just physically but with his accent and attitude. All of the praise is well deserved, he nails it.

Joe Weider is played by Tyler Hoechlin, and tbh his voice / inflection is a little hard to get used to at first. But you realize, as the film develops, that the hesitation and stammering reflect his lack of experience and insecurity (fear?) and as he becomes older and more successful, he morphs into a confident man and the stuttering falls away.

The film starts a little slowly, but by the time you get to the scene in Murray's (sp) Restaurant you will be hooked.

Best movie I've seen in a long time, and I plan to see it at least once more
October 13, 2018
Exciting storyline and incredible cast! A must see!!
October 13, 2018
Great movie about Joe Wieder
October 13, 2018
Amazing story told in an incredible way. It was extremely interesting to see how the Weider brothers grew up with so much drive, passion, determination and force. The story was beautifully told. I encourage everyone to see it. I promise you will not be disappointed.
October 13, 2018
One of the best movies I've seen this year. Loved seeing the story of Joe & Ben Weider... without Joe there would never have been bodybuilding and without bodybuilding modern fitness wouldn't exist!
October 13, 2018
A powerful and romantic tale of a true innovator. I love the way this movie looks and it's heart is in the right place throughout.
Juliane Hough was born to play Betty Weider.
October 13, 2018
A good hearted, well shot, beautiful story of a true pioneer. Hough and Von Moger are both excellent and it is far better than the reviews would suggest.
October 13, 2018
A fantastic and well done movie finally worth watching. Hollywood needs to make more movies like this.
October 13, 2018
now that's a wonderful movie worth seeing! interesting fun...we laughed we cried. best film in a long time.
October 13, 2018
Don't expect the best acting in the world, I certainly didn't come to see that. If you're an enthusiast for bodybuilding and know some or a few bodybuilders, you'll likely enjoy this movie.

This movie also made me want to go workout after lol
October 12, 2018
super great movie! excited, beautiful story line
September 30, 2018
As a life long follower of bodybuilding, I very much look forward to this film.
September 28, 2018
Looking forward to this!
Page 1 of 1